11th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards

11th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards

TransWorld SKATEboarding announced the nominees for the 11th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards today. The winners will be named during a live event on June 12, 2009 at Avalon Hollywood.

The TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards honor skateboarding’s top riders, presenting eight awards to professional skateboarders in the categories of Best Rookie, Best Street Skater, Best Transition Skater, Best Team, Best Video, Best Video Part, TWS Readers’ Choice, and the TWS Legend Award. The award winners are determined by polling more than 150 professional skateboarders worldwide with thousands of TransWorld SKATEboarding’s readers voting for the winner of the TWS Readers’ Choice Award. This year’s TWS Legend Award will be presented to one of skateboarding’s finest vert skaters, Christian Hosoi. Previous winners of this prestigious award have included Tony Hawk, Lance Mountain, and Mark Gonzales.

In addition to the awards, TransWorld SKATEboarding is pleased to host the world premiere of its 21st video, Right Foot Forward, the newest film by Jon Holland and Chris Ray, featuring Corey Duffel, Joey Brezinski, Kellen James, Matt Beach, and Bobby Worrest.

Eric Stricker, Editor of TransWorld SKATEboarding says, “The TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards are not only the biggest and best awards show in skateboarding—where the pros are the ones deciding who was best for the year—but it’s the official kickoff to the summer. And probably your only chance to see Skin Phillips onstage.”

The official nominees for the 11th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards presented by Adio are:

Andrew Allen
Andrew Brophy
Sean Malto

Silas Baxter-Neal
Heath Kirchart
Anthony Van Engelen

Alien Workshop
Anti Hero
Toy Machine

And Now, TransWorld
Mind Field, Alien Workshop
Ride The Sky, Fallen Footwear

Rune Glifberg
Peter Hewitt
Matt Mumford

David Gravette, And Now
Jake Johnson, Mind Field
Anthony Van Engelen, Mind Field

Chris Cole
Heath Kirchart
Sean Malto

Christian Hosoi

The 11th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards is proud to be presented by Adio, associated with sponsors: Osiris, New Era, Kicker, Quiksilver, and Red Bull. For more information on TransWorld SKATEboarding and the TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, please visit skateboarding.com.

11th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards flyer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *