Maloof Money Cup announces 2009 street contestants

Maloof Money Cup 2009 street contestants

The 2009 Maloof Money Cup event with again the mad sum of $450,000 US dollars in prize money will be taking place July 10-12, 2009 at the OC Fair & Event Center in Costa Mesa, California. Just today we received the list of 36 place street contestants with 12 wild card spots up for grabs. Here’s part of the official press release:

Presented by etnies and Monster Energy, the Maloof Money Cup is the largest pursed event in the history of professional skateboarding with more than $450,000 in cash and prizes awarded in three professional U.S. Championship Competitions, including the Carl’s Jr. U.S. Pro Vert Championship, the Zoo York U.S. Pro Street Championship, U.S. Women’s Pro Street and the World Industries Amateur Street and Vert Championship. New this year, Tech Deck will award $10,000 to the skater with the “Best Trick” of the street contest.

“This is an unbelievable list of competitors,” said Joe Maloof. “We’ve got some of the most respected skaters in the industry, some who haven’t competed in years, along with some of the greatest contest skaters out there. We’re so grateful to the skateboarding community that has embraced us and worked with us to create something truly remarkable. This year’s event is really unprecedented in regards to the level of talent assembled and the course designs. It’s going to be a spectacular competition, and I hope it’s one that people will be talking about for years.”

TOP 36 STREET SKATERS placed in advance:

Mark Appleyard
Brian Anderson
Zered Bassett
Silas Baxter-Neal
Brandon Biebel
Dennis Busenitz
Mike Mo Capaldi
Mike Carroll
Chris Cole
Nick Dompierre
Corey Duffel
Jake Duncombe
Erik Ellington
Chris Haslam
Bryan Herman
Nyjah Huston
Stefan Janoski
Marc Johnson
Josh Kalis
Terry Kennedy
Heath Kirchart
Eric Koston
Greg Lutzka
Sean Malto
Alex Olson
Chaz Ortiz
Peter Ramondetta
Andrew Reynolds
Paul Rodriguez
Jereme Rogers
Leo Romero
Geoff Rowley
Omar Salazar
Ryan Sheckler
Darrell Stanton
Braydon Szafranski

*12 additional Wild Card skaters TBA


The 2009 skater selection committee included some of the industry’s most widely respected experts and pro skaters: Chris Cole, Jereme Rogers, Geoff Rowley, Erik Ellington, Paul Rodriguez, Adam Sullivan, Jimmy Astleford, Jim Thiebaud, Ryan Kingman, Remy Stratton, Dave Duncan, Don Bostick, Heath Brinkley, Rob Brink, Tim Gavin, Mike Sinclair, Seamus Deegan, Eric Stricker, Sam Smyth and Mark Waters.

Follow Europeskate and share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.