Metal Hammer To Release Dimebag Darrell – Pantera CD Tribute

Metal Hammer To Release Dimebag Darrell - Pantera CD Tribute

There are and always will be bands which have such a large impact on many people that they live on forever. Pantera is definitely one of these bands and they accompanied me through my younger years either on the board, headbanging with some friends at the local metal bar or just alone at home.

Maybe a little bit of history about Pantera for those of you who don’t know them that well: they were formed back in 1981 by Darrell Lance Abbott aka Dimebag Darrell and his brother Vinne Paul and grew into one of the most influential metal bands ever. Dimebag Darrell and Vinnie Paul later formed the band Damageplan in 2004 after mounting tensions dealing with Pantera’s singer Phil Anselmo and his drug abuse led to the break-up of Pantera. One album was recorded and brought out but tragically Dimebag was shot on stage in December 2004 and killed instantly.

To pay tribute to Dimebag Darrell, Metal Hammer has put together a compilation of some of the best bands in metal to unleash their interpretations of tracks from the Pantera albums which will be released along with their 200th issue December 216th 2009.

The full tracklisting runs:

01. Zakk Wylde – “Suicide Note, Pt. 1”
02. Machine Head – “Fucking Hostile”
03. Malefice – “I’m Broken”
04. Avenged Sevenfold – “Walk”
05. Evile – “Cemetary Gates”
06. Five Finger Death Punch – “A New Level”
07. Biohazard – “Mouth For War”
08. Sylosis – “Strength Beyond Strength”
09. Chimaira – “Slaughtered”
10. Unearth – “Sandblasted Skin”
11. Throwdown – “Becoming”
12. Kiaus – “This Love”
13. This Is Hell – “Rise”

Enjoy the skills of Dimebag Darrell – rocking forever RIP!
Follow Europeskate and share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.